Monday, August 15, 2011

Review: Vanishing Acts by Phillip Margolin and Ami Margolin Rome

Title: Vanishing Acts
Author: Phillip Margolin and Ami Margolin Rome
Release Date: April 28, 2011
Publisher: Harper Collins Canada/Other
Source: Publisher
From tracking down her best friend, who’s nowhere to be found, to secretly helping her attorney father solve a missing-person case, Madison Kincaid is a busy seventh-grade sleuth. Teaming up with new classmate Jake, she hits the sidewalks of Portland, Oregon, determined to find out what’s behind two mysterious vanishing acts.In his first book for young readers, New York Times bestselling author Phillip Margolin and his daughter, Ami Margolin Rome, deliver a fast-paced, compelling mystery that’s perfect for reluctant readers and sure to appeal to fans of Masterpiece, The Calder Game, and Theodore Boone: Kid Lawyer.
Review: I love reading middle grade books. They’re so cute and quick and easy to read so when I got the chance to review this book, I took it! It’s a mystery book too and that made it all the better!

Though this book was rather short (only 169 pages) I had a great time reading about the adventures of Maddie Kincaid! She’s going to begin seventh grade, she’s trying not to get on the bad side of the best soccer player on her team, her best friend is missing, AND she’s going to help her attorney dad solve a murder case; she’s got so much to do! Maddie was such a sweet girl who just wanted everyone to be happy and safe. She wants to be a criminal defense lawyer (like me!) like her dad and so it’s only right for her to help him solve his murder case…right?

The plot revolves around Maddie trying to figure out if a murder actually occurred and in between trying to find her best friend. She gets the help of the new boy at school; Maddie has to figure out how to deal with liking a boy.

Overall: 4/5
Cover Comments: 4/5—It’ssuch a cute cover! I love the guy and the girl and the car go really well withthe story!

1 comment:

  1. Great review! I've never heard of this series before but this one sounds like a really cute read- sort of a like Nancy Drew book. I'll have to check it out sometime.

    ReplyDelete

 
BLOG DESIGN BY DESIGNER BLOGS