Friday, July 31, 2015

Review: A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas

           A Court of Thrones and Roses by Sarah J. Maas
Series: A Court of Thrones and Roses #1
Release Date: May 5, 2015 
Publisher: Bloomsbury Children's 
Source: Library 
A thrilling, seductive new series from New York Times bestselling author Sarah J. Maas, blending Beauty and the Beast with faerie lore.

When nineteen-year-old huntress Feyre kills a wolf in the woods, a beast-like creature arrives to demand retribution for it. Dragged to a treacherous magical land she only knows about from legends, Feyre discovers that her captor is not an animal, but Tamlin—one of the lethal, immortal faeries who once ruled their world.

As she dwells on his estate, her feelings for Tamlin transform from icy hostility into a fiery passion that burns through every lie and warning she's been told about the beautiful, dangerous world of the Fae. But an ancient, wicked shadow grows over the faerie lands, and Feyre must find a way to stop it . . . or doom Tamlin—and his world—forever.

Perfect for fans of Kristin Cashore and George R. R. Martin, this first book in a sexy and action-packed new series is impossible to put down!
So this book. As I'm sitting here trying to write this review, I feel this sadness coming over me. Sadness, because unfortunalty, unlike the rest of the world, I didn't LOVELOVELOVELOVE A Court of Thorns and Roses. Frankly, I was bored through most of the book and the only reason I finished it was this childish "maybe it'll get better" mentality. Spoiler: it didn't. While the world and Feyre were my favorite part of this book, I wasn't a fan of the romance, the plot was disappointing for various reasons, and the pacing was SLOOOOOOW even though I loved the main character (and Lucien!) and the world was utterly fantastic!

Tuesday, July 28, 2015

A Glimpse of India: Introduction

Still working on this graphic! 
Hello everyone! I hope you all are having a wonderful day! Today I want to introduce a new feature on my blog! I've been debating about doing this for a while and now that I really feel up to it, I'm excited to get started in sharing these posts with you guys!

Thursday, July 23, 2015

Missing: Menstrual Cycle's In Books

*THIS POST WAS WRITTEN AT 2 AM. I TRIED TO BE AS COHERENT AS POSSIBLE BUT I MIGHT HAVE FAILED. YOU'VE BEEN WARNED.*
Some of you are probably cringing or shaking your head or something from the title of this post but it's a topic I've been thinking for a long time about writing so now I'm talking about it. So, there. 

*ahem*

Friday, July 03, 2015

Movie Review: Jurassic World

Release Date: June 12, 2015 
Director: Colin Trevorrow 
Cast: 
Chris Pratt as Owen 
Bryce Dallas Howard as Claire 
Ty Simpkins as Gray
Nick Robinson as Zach 

Review

Honestly, I wasn't going to watch this movie in theaters. While I loved Jurassic Park and liked the next two sequels well enough, I wasn't as interested in seeing Jurassic World in theaters. Seeing it on DVD would have sufficed because Hollywood, in my opinion, is just making sequels left and right because they've got no new ideas BUT my younger brother wanted to see this movie and my parents didn't want him to go alone. So, I bought the popcorn (we all know that movie theater popcorn is the best EVER) and the drinks and sat down to be sorely disappointed. And now I'm here today to tell you guys that I actually enjoyed the movie!

Wednesday, July 01, 2015

Mini-Review: Just Like Heaven and The Husband Hunt

           Just Like Heaven by Julia Quinn
Series: Smythe-Smith Quartet #1
Release Date: May 31, 2011 
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers 
Source: Library  
Honoria Smythe-Smith is:
A) a really bad violinist
B) still miffed at being nicknamed "Bug" as a child
C) not in love with her older brother's best friend
D) all of the above

Marcus Holroyd is:
A) the Earl of Chatteris
B) regrettably prone to sprained ankles
C) not in love with his best friend's younger sister
D) all of the above

Together they:
A) eat quite a bit of chocolate cake
B) survive a deadly fever and the world's worst musical performance
C) fall quite desperately in love

It's Julia Quinn at her best, so you know the answer is ...
D) all of the above
Okay, if there is one type of romance I LOVE it's when someone falls of their sibling's friend. Like, they've known each other since they were kids and there was no love between them until they meet when they're older and fall in love and it is the BEST THING EVER. So obviously I really enjoyed this novel! ALSO: in this novel Marcus ends up getting sick because of something Honoria did by accident and she has to nurse him back to health and  I really like it when that happens in romance novels.

But anyways! I loved Honoria. She's smart and kind and weird and also really sad. After her bother left, she and her family had to deal with the same and the lack of a male figure in a family. While I'm all about women empowerment, back in those times, it would be hard for women to do without at least a man around. This has also hurt Honoria's abilities to land herself a husband--that and for some reason, any man she gets involved with suddenly backs away--and that's where this novel begins. From the start, we know that Honoria's in love with Marcus and it's obvious that Marcus likes her too so its only a wonder as to why he won't act on it.

As I said above, I love that this novel has a plot line where Marcus gets sick and Honoria has--well, she wants to--take care of him and make him better. This is the part of the novel that made me so happy. They both start to realize they have feelings for each other and when everything seems perfect, a new revelation surfaces (but the readers know this revelation already; much of this story is told through dual point of view) that forces Honoria to rethink everything that happened between them. Frankly, I loved Marcus as much as I loved Honoria. He's loyal to boot to Daniel and has always looked after Daniel's family. They're both such wonderful characters that I honestly want to reread this book already.

This book is pretty great but it’s missing something that would make it extremely special. I might re-read this book, possibly more than once. I would recommend this book to lots of my friends and some of my colleagues.

There's something about this cover that I love. It might be the simplicity or the colors or something else entirely but I love it.

**********************************

           The Husband Hunt by Lynsay Sands
Series: Madison Sisters #3
Release Date: February 28, 2012 
Publisher: Avon 
Source: Library 
Let the hunt begin…

Lisa Madison wants a husband, and she has just the candidate in mind: Robert Langley. Trouble is, the infuriating man insists on seeing her as the impish girl she once was—even as every other gentleman in London has taken notice of her womanly…charms. When her beauty lands her in danger, it’s Robert who comes to the rescue…only to announce his affections are not of the romantic variety!

Robert saw enough sorrow in his parents’ union to know he wants nothing to do with marriage, which is exactly what he’ll be trapped into if he acts on his desire for the irksome siren. And then Lisa does what Robert least expects: gives up on him! As feigned indifference gives way, blistering passion burns at last. But just before the pair can give in to hard-won bliss, an enemy with unfinished business lurks threatening to destroy them both.
I was so hoping to like this book! It sounded so good from the description--being in love with a man who doesn't love you and when you try to find someone else, low and behold your unrequited love...loves you back! Honestly, this book had all of the most amazing aspects I love about a good romance but sadly, The Husband Hunt was a huge disappointment.

Instead of being charming, Lisa Madison was a spoiled, ridiculous, and annoying character who I didn't care for at all. As you can tell from the summary, she intends to make Robert Langley her husband but when it continues to rebuff her as he has for years, Lisa decides to find someone else for her. So then begins the husband hunt that the title refers to. And just when I think she's going to be smart and strong, Lisa gets herself into the worst situation possible because she was too stubborn to listen to her sisters; she's always right after all. Now, this situation could have gone terribly, terribly wrong but instead, Robert Langley comes to the rescue. Here Lisa forgets that she's going to move on from him and decides to spend the rest of the novel (about 80%) trying to seduce Robert. Basically, this entire novel was annoying. I read it within hours because I always hoped that something good would come from it.

However, I do plan on reading the first two books of this series because I feel as though Lisa's sisters will be a lot more level headed, stronger, and well, less annoying then her. Lynsay Sands writing was fun and light and I think if the characters were lovable, I would love her books. But the writing wasn't enough to say this book for me though.
Y'all I can't recommend this book to anyone. Nope, can't do it. I didn't have fun reading this one so I don't want anyone else to have to go through with the annoyingness that is Lisa.
If there's anything about romance covers is that they're basically all the same. So there's not much I can say about the cover. 
 
BLOG DESIGN BY DESIGNER BLOGS